The Animals – Animalization (1966/2013) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

The Animals – Animalization (1966/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:12 minutes | 993 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Digital Booklet | © ABKCO Records

Animalization was released in the US in the summer of 1966 and hit the top 20, driven by three singles. The album introduced new Animals drummer Barry Jenkins, who shares drum credits with his predecessor, departing founding member John Steel. Now remastered using transfers from the original first generation mono tapes, this edition includes bonus stereo versions of three songs.

The U.S. version of the British Animalisms album removed the loose jam “Clapping,” and the superb “Squeeze Her – Tease Her” and “That’s All I Am to You” are removed in favor of the hits “Don’t Bring Me Down,” “See See Rider,” and “Inside – Looking Out” — it’s still a great record, if not as cohesive as the U.K. version, and was the last original Animals LP to attract many buyers in the U.S. The song content of both versions has been assembled on Repertoire’s 2000 release of Animalisms. ~~AllMusic Review by Bruce Eder

1 Don’t Bring Me Down 3:16
2 One Monkey Don’t Stop No Show 3:20
3 You’re On My Mind 2:54
4 Cheating 2:27
5 She’ll Return It 2:46
6 Inside-Looking Out 3:48
7 See See Rider 4:01
8 Gin House Blues 4:38
9 Maudie 4:02
10 What Am I Living For 3:14
11 Sweet Little Sixteen 3:08
12 I Put A Spell On You 2:58
13 Don’t Bring Me Down (Stereo Version) 3:16
14 Cheating (Stereo Version) 2:23
15 See See Rider (Stereo Version) 4:00

Eric Burdon – vocals
Dave Rowberry – keyboards
Hilton Valentine – guitar
Chas Chandler – bass
John Steel – drums except as indicated below
Barry Jenkins – drums on “Don’t Bring Me Down”, “Cheating”, “See See Rider”, and “She’ll Return It”