Tanya Ekanayaka – Tanya Ekanayaka: 12 Piano Prisms (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Tanya Ekanayaka – Tanya Ekanayaka: 12 Piano Prisms (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:01 minutes | 913 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Grand Piano

Tanya Ekanayaka’s ‘Twelve Piano Prisms’ extend the concept heard on her album ‘Reinventions: Rhapsodies for Piano.’ They correspond to the twelve primary notes of the keyboard, and combine Sri Lankan melodies with music from other countries in a deeply personal representation of diverse cultures; their style inspired not only by a rich heritage of Western classical and indigenous world music, but also by pop, rock and film music. Dr. Tanya Ekanayaka is an internationally acclaimed and award-winning Sri Lankan-British concert composer-pianist regarded as one of Sri Lanka’s finest artists. Classically trained and with a background in Asian and Popular music, she is also a linguist, musicologist and record producer. Although she trained as a pianist, her compositional skills are the result of a purely intuitive and natural development.

1. E Flat – July 2016/17 04:37
2. B Flat – Armenia to a Pearl 02:43
3. C – Emerald Lapwing Karpet 05:40
4. D Flat – Intuition, Auld Lang Syne & An Asian Sacred 04:18
5. G – With Paaru Kavi 05:37
6. F – Renewal & Goyam Kapuma 08:36
7. E – Arrow-and 02:07
8. A – Zuni Sea 03:26
9. A Flat Scintilla: Komitas Unto Childhood 03:09
10. B – Of Vannam & Zhuang Tai Qiu Si 01:59
11. F Sharp – Kitty & Bambaru 09:48
12. D – Hana Hare 04:01

Tanya Ekanayaka, piano