Sophie Hunger – Molecules (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Sophie Hunger – Molecules (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 40:13 minutes | 832 MB | Genre: Folk, Indie Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Caroline International

For ten years, Sophie Hunger has been making enchanting folk music. A woman with hybrid tastes, the Swiss musician sometimes even steps out into jazz, when she isn’t touring pop or rock. Today, her curiosity is taking her even further afield, with this album, written in Berlin and full of electro sounds. Molecules is a pleasing work that opens strongly with a politically-conscious track: She Makes The President. Given that she wrote the soundtrack to My Life as a Zucchini, this number sounds like it comes straight from an American blockbuster. And with good reason! Written before the election of Donald Trump, Sophie Hunger is imagining the victory of a badass woman in the Presidential race. A prog beat, a minimalist, catchy chorus, and subsequent political developments give the album greater weight. Then the film plunges ahead, each scene more surprising than the last. A double agent on acoustic guitar (Silver Lane), a chase scene with phantom beats (Tricks), African rhythms (I Open A Bar) and a romantic Franglais finale (Coucou). Sophie Hunger’s music makes for living tableaux that swarm with details. This is a record halfway between work of art and scientific experiment. – Clara Bismuth


01 – She Makes President (00:03:36)
02 – Sliver Lane (00:03:24)
03 – There Is Still Pain Left (00:04:17)
04 – Tricks (00:04:22)
05 – Let It Come Down (00:03:29)
06 – I Opened A Bar (00:03:52)
07 – Oh Lord (00:03:01)
08 – The Actress (00:04:03)
09 – Electropolis (00:03:33)
10 – That Man (00:03:35)
11 – Coucou (00:03:01)