Ruthie Foster – Joy Comes Back (2017) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ruthie Foster – Joy Comes Back (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 42:32 minutes | 481 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz  | Front Cover | © Blue Corn Music

With a naturally expressive voice that has drawn comparisons to greats like Aretha Franklin and Ella Fitzgerald, Texas-based singer and songwriter Ruthie Foster has a wide palette of American song forms – gospel and blues to jazz, folk, and soul – and her live performances are powerfully transfiguring. “Joy Comes Back” is the ninth full-length studio release for the Grammy-nominated blues singer.

Like 2014’s Promise of a Brand New Day before it, the title of Ruthie Foster’s 2017 album Joy Comes Back promises something optimistic. Joy Comes Back does just that but from an entirely different angle. Between the two records, Foster separated from a long-term partner, and she coped by settling down in her hometown of Austin, Texas, recording the new album with her friend, producer Daniel Barrett. A crew of sympathetic musicians – including guitarist Derek Trucks, drummer Joe Vitale, and Warren Hood, among several others – swung by the studios and helped Foster record nine covers and an original. Foster casts her net wide, dredging up classic blues from Mississippi John Hurt (“Richland Woman Blues”), contemporary country from Chris Stapleton (“What Are You Listening To?), and classic heavy metal from Black Sabbath (“War Pigs”), but what unites the album is the warm, supple energy of the band and Foster’s aching ease. She may have been through the ringer recently, but she’s choosing to be positive – or, as she sings on Shawnee Kilgore’s “Abraham,” “When I do good/I feel good” – and that gives Joy Comes Back a relaxed richness that’s quite restorative.

01 – What Are You Listening To?
02 – Working Woman
03 – Joy Comes Back (feat. Derek Trucks)
04 – Open Sky
05 – Good Sailor
06 – War Pigs
07 – Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
08 – Richland Woman Blues
09 – Abraham
10 – Forgiven