In its fourth edition, the Annecy Festival has become a major player in the national and international cultural landscape. In residence at the 2013 Annecy Classic Festival, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic closes the festival and joins forces with its iconic conductor Yuri Temirkanov for a 100% Rachmaninov programme! Russian to his very marrow despite his exile in the United States, Sergei Rachmaninov plumbs the depths of the Slavic soul. Temirkanov conducts the orchestra in a performance of Rimsky-Korsakov’s lush Sheherazade, with its intoxicating scents and the glowing, oriental colours – a journey through One Thousand and One Nights.



Sergei Rachmaninov:
– Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18
– Études-Tableaux, Op. 39: No. 2 in A Minor
– 13 Preludes, Op. 32: No. 12 in G-Sharp Minor
– Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

Nikolay Andreyevich Rimsky-Korsakov:
– Scheherazade, Op. 35

Edward Elgar:
– Salut d’amour, Op. 12

Giuseppe Verdi:
– La forza del destino: Overture

Denis Matsuev, piano
St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra
Yuri Temirkanov, conductor

• Recorded live from the Annecy Classic Festival, 2013


• Rarely has an orchestra enchanted and thrilled ist audience as did the National Children’s Orchestra of Venezuela at the Salzburg Festival! This astonishing group was founded in 2010 by José Antonio Abreu as part of El Sistema, and Sir Simon Rattle conducted ist first-ever concert in Caracas. At the Salzburg Festival, it was Rattle on the podium again, conducting the children’s orchestra at its international debut.
• A choir for hard-of-hearing and deaf youths? Sounds like a contradiction in terms, but the one-of-a-kind White Hands Choir of Venezuela proves the opposite, and this 60-mins film documents the choir’s first tour abroad following an invitation from the Salzburg Festival. The programme features Latin-American folk songs and Piazzolla arrangements as well as choral works by Mozart and Rutter.



Gustav Mahler:
– Symphony No. 1 in D Major, “Titan”
George Gershwin:
– Cuban Overture
Leonard Bernstein:
– West Side Story: Symphonic Dances: IV. Mambo
Johann Strauss I:
– Radetzky March, Op. 228
Alberto Ginastera:
– Estancia Suite, Op. 8a *

National Children’s Symphony Orchestra of Venezuela
*Jesús Parra, conductor
Simon Rattle, conductor

Chorus Masters: Naybeth Garcia, Luis Chinchilla
– singing music by Rutter, Palma, Mozart, Cespedes, Freites, Piazzolla

• Recorded during the Salzburg Festival, 2013


Eric Clapton – 461 Ocean Boulevard (1974/1996)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:38 minutes | 859 MB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital booklet

One of Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time,” Clapton’s second solo album featured a number of his most powerful singles, including “Let It Grow”, “Willie and the Hand Jive” and “I Shot the Sheriff”.

461 Ocean Boulevard is Eric Clapton’s second studio solo album, arriving after his side project of Derek and the Dominos and a long struggle with heroin addiction. Although there are some new reggae influences, the album doesn’t sound all that different from the rock, pop, blues, country, and R&B amalgam of Eric Clapton. However, 461 Ocean Boulevard is a tighter, more focused outing that enables Clapton to stretch out instrumentally. Furthermore, the pop concessions on the album — the sleek production, the concise running times — don’t detract from the rootsy origins of the material, whether it’s Johnny Otis’ “Willie and the Hand Jive,” the traditional blues “Motherless Children,” Bob Marley’s “I Shot the Sheriff,” or Clapton’s emotional original “Let It Grow.” With its relaxed, friendly atmosphere and strong bluesy roots, 461 Ocean Boulevard set the template for Clapton’s ’70s albums. Though he tried hard to make an album exactly like it, he never quite managed to replicate its charms. (more…)

Gloria – Froy Aagre, Schola Cantorum, Tone Bianca Sparre Dahl

FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:10:28 | 170 MB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front covers

Gloria in Excelsis Deo – the song of the angels announcing Christ’s birth – given here in a powerful version, simple and beautiful, for choir and saxophone by Norwegian composer Frøy Aagre. At times deeply meditative, at times sparkling with energy, this is a Gloria with roots in both the classical and jazz traditions. Frøy Aagre and the choir Schola Cantorum with their conductor Tone Bianca Sparre Dahl are all artists who make a point of trying to communicate directly with an audience. In this audio production from 2L, the listener seems to be among the players. This makes for a very special listening experience – you are captivated by the music’s vitality and calm in Uranienborg Church, and by Frøy Aagre’s expressive saxophone that provides the linear storytelling impetus to the music.
Gloria in excelsis Deo, ordene som skal ha blitt sunget av englene under Kristi fødsel. Her i en vakker, enkel og mektig versjon for kor og saksofon av Frøy Aagre, et Gloria som spenner fra det meditative til det kraftfulle i et tidløst spenn mellom klassisk musikk og jazz. Både Frøy Aagre og Schola Cantorum med sin dirigent Tone Bianca Sparre Dahl er kjent for sin særegne evne til å kommunisere fra scenen med sitt engasjement og for sin fortellerevne. I denne lydproduksjonen fra 2L kommer musikken lytteren i møte som om man selv var til stede midt i ensemblet i Uranienborg kirke. En særegen lytteropplevelse med vitalitet og ro, båret av Frøy Aagres fortellende saksofonstemme.