Marion Meadows – Soul City (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/44,1kHz]

Marion Meadows – Soul City (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 46:14 minutes | 530 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Shanachie Entertainment

Smooth Jazz Superstar Marion Meadows is without question one of the most popular and unique talents on the jazz scene today. Marion has sold close to one million albums in his brilliant career. His constant string of radio hits and relentless touring have garnered legions of fans, and his appearances with such varied artists as The Temptations, Michael Bolton and Will Downing are a testament to his broad audience appeal. Soul City, Marion’s most intimate and heartfelt album to date, is a star-studded event that takes the listener on a sensuous journey through a soundscape of brilliant original compositions and masterful improvisations. The album is co-produced by Marion’s long time hit-making collaborators, Chris “Big Dog” Davis (Will Downing, Gerald Albright, Maysa), Rahni Song (Najee, Melba Moore, Freddie Jackson) and Dave Love. Soul Traveler, Marion’s previous Shanachie release, debuted at #1 on the Smooth Jazz charts, and garnered 3 top 10 Smooth Jazz Radio singles. Highlights include the funky “Soul City” featuring Norman Brown, the deeply sensuous ballad “Be With You” with vocals by the amazing Will Downing, “Merry Go Round” featuring Smooth Jazz icon Peter White and much more!

Imagine a city defined by soul, where harmony resonates and a perfect groove keeps all things moving in stunning synchronicity. Well that is a place that smooth sax superstar Marion Meadows has created with his brand new project ‘Soul City’ which will hit the streets on February 16. It is a star studded affair that unites Meadows with R & B big hitters such as Will Downing, Peabo Bryson and Maysa plus ‘A-List’ guitarists Peter White and Norman Brown for a collection that has quality running right through it. In fact right across the ten choice tracks (eight of them co-written by Meadows with either Chris Big Dog Davis or Rahni Song) the standard remains breathtakingly high and a case in point is ‘Dreamin’ that is ushered in by White’s distinctive guitar chords and then turned into a Latin gem, partially by Maysa’s sultry vocal but mostly through Meadows’ cool playing. The album’s one cover version is a fresh take on the Cyndi Lauper smash ‘Time After Time’ where vocals are in the capable hands of Peabo Bryson while elsewhere Will Downing steps up to hit it out of the park with the Chris Big Dog Davis – Barbara Perry composition ‘Samba De Playa’ for which the title tells you all you need to know. Vocalist Dana Lauren is on hand for the contemplative ‘No Wind, No Rain’ that proves to be another decidedly cool cut and much the same can be said of ‘Consequences’ where, despite an hypnotic vibe, Meadows magically keeps everything under control. He remains on the mellow side for ‘Only’ that features guitar from Kaimi Hananoeau whilst the jazzy yet easy grooving title song is speckled with understated trumpet from Joey Sommerville. Norman Brown’s trademark guitar also makes its mark, stellar keys come courtesy of Davis and there is a nice contribution on bass guitar from Will Gaines. Gaines sticks around to add great vocals to ‘You’ where Jeff Bradshaw on trombone combines with Meadows to apply a brassy veneer to the entire number and when, for ‘Merry Go Round’, vocal duties pass to Latrese Bush she helps conjure up a streetwise slice of urban jazz that is right on the money. Yet all things considered the Smooth Jazz Therapy top tune just has to be the entirely compelling ‘Be With You’. It features Kim Flemming on vocals and is already destined to be one of my very top tracks of 2018. Urban jazz really doesn’t get better than this.

01 – Soul City
02 – Dreamin
03 – You
04 – Merry Go Round
05 – Time After Time
06 – Consequences
07 – Be With You
08 – Samba De Playa
09 – No Wind, No Rain
10 – Only