Joe Farrell – Joe Farrell Quartet (1970/2016) [Official Digital Download 24bit/192kHz]

Joe Farrell – Joe Farrell Quartet (1970/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:51 minutes | 1,43 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: e-Onkyo | Front Cover | © CTI Records
Recorded: July 1 & 2, 1970 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

One of Joe Farrell’s first LPs as a leader – and a stellar session that’s easily one of the early high points for the legendary CTI label! Farrell had been making some great noise in the underground during the late 60s – but here, he bursts forth as one heck of a soulful cat – working on these great modal grooves that slide out wonderfully and really have a sense of flow – a style that’s different than Joe’s later material, but equally powerful! Part of the strength of the record comes from the lineup – a key quintet of like-mined up-and-comers that includes Chick Corea on keyboards, John McLaughlin on guitar, Dave Holland on bass, and Jack DeJohnette on drums – players who definitely know the farther reaches of jazz, yet hang just on the inside here with Joe – providing some amazing accompaniment for his lines on soprano, tenor, and flute. Titles include “Molten Glass”, “Song Of The Wind”, “Motion”, “Follow Your Heart”, and “Circle In The Square”.

Joe Farrell, known in the ’60s as a solid hard bop tenor saxophonist, branched out in the ’70s. On this near-classic album, Farrell switches between tenor, soprano, flute, and even oboe while being joined by a rather notable backup crew: keyboardist Chick Corea, guitarist John McLaughlin, bassist Dave Holland, and drummer Jack DeJohnette. In addition to a famous version of McLaughlin’s “Follow Your Heart,” the material includes originals by Farrell and Corea, and the leader makes a strong impression on each of his horns. –AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 Follow Your Heart 6:56
2 Collage For Polly 2:34
3 Circle In The Square 7:14
4 Molten Glass 5:21
5 Alter Ego 1:28
6 Song Of The Wind 6:01
7 Motion 5:16

Joe Farrell – Soprano and Tenor Sax, Flute, Oboe
Chick Corea – Piano
Dave Holland – Bass
Jack DeJohnette – Drums
John McLaughlin – Guitar (Follow Your Heart and Motion only)