Ilya Gringolts – Stravinsky: Music for Violin, Vol. 2 (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Ilya Gringolts – Stravinsky: Music for Violin, Vol. 2 (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:16:13 minutes | 1,25 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © BIS

The relationship between Igor Stravinsky and the violin didn’t get off to a promising start: early on in his career the composer stated that he was not fond of stringed instruments, finding them ‘rich in cheap expressivity’. He was also suspicious of virtuoso interpreters – among which violinists were particularly numerous – and their tendency to ‘seek immediate triumphs and to lend themselves to the wishes of the public’. Nevertheless there are in Stravinsky’s oeuvre a number of works featuring a solo violin, all of which have now been recorded by his compatriot Ilya Gringolts.

The focus of the preceding volume was on the works for violin and piano, most of them Stravinsky’s arrangements of his own music for the stage, and Gringolts and pianist Peter Laul were praised for their performances, for instance in Fanfare: ‘The Russian duo has discovered – and created – new freshness in the sound of Stravinsky’s music for the instrument. Urgently recommended.’ On the present disc, Gringolts combines duos – again in the company of Laul – with other genres, including Stravinsky’s most famous work for the violin: his Violin Concerto from 1931. In the concerto, as in the extract for solo violin and strings from the ballet Apollon musagète, Gringolts is supported by Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia conducted by Dima Slobodeniouk.

01. Pastorale (Arr. for Violin & Chamber Ensemble)
02. Ballade
03. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): I. Introduzione. Allegro moderato
04. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): II. Serenata. Larghetto
05. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): III. Tarantella. Vivace
06. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): IV. Gavotte con due variazioni
07. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): V. Scherzino. Presto alla breve
08. Suite italienne (Version for Violin & Piano): VI. Minuetto e finale. Moderato-Molto vivace
09. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): I. Sinfonia. Andante
10. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): II. Danses suisses. Tempo giusto
11. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): III. Scherzo. Allegretto grazioso
12. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): IVa. Pas de deux. Adagio
13. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): IVb. Variation. Allegretto grazioso
14. Divertimento (Arr. for Violin & Piano): IVc. Coda. Presto
15. Apollon musagète: No. 2, Variation d’Apollon
16. Violin Concerto in D Major: I. Toccata
17. Violin Concerto in D Major: II. Aria I
18. Violin Concerto in D Major: III. Aria II
19. Violin Concerto in D Major: IV. Capriccio
20. Élégie (Version for Violin)
21. Tango (Arr. for Violin & Piano)

Ilya Gringolts, violin
Peter Laul, piano
Orquesta Sinfonica de Galicia
Dima Slobodeniouk, conductor