Henning Sommerro: Ujamaa & The Iceberg (2018) Blu-ray 2L FLAC DXD 24Bit/352,8kHz

Henning Sommerro: Ujamaa & The Iceberg (2018)
DXD FLAC Stereo 24bit/352kHz | Time – 01:00:13 minutes | 3,3 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Source: 2L-146-SACD | Digital Booklet , Front cover

The composer Henning Sommerro moves rapidly, criss-crossing his musical stage. The space in which he moves has expanded: “All the world’s a stage”. In an open room unforeseeable things take place; things mature, and grow. New elements are created, old ones are modified, and earlier contours are erased. With a respectful greeting we are drawn on by the promise of something bigger; the title UJAMAA sounds playful, slightly mystical. It is Swahili, and it means coming together in brotherhood.

Where opposites meet there is hope – that precious quality we carry with us that can foreshadow our way ahead. On this album Henning Sommerro invites us to listen to two of his large-scale works for soloists and orchestra: Ujamaa and The Iceberg. Both are composed as cantatas. In Ujamaa we move, as if in a series of dream-pictures, between the world’s five continents. In The Iceberg interpersonal relationships are manifested through the voice of Eva Sars, wife of the explorer, scientist, diplomat, humanist and Nobel laureate Fridtjof Nansen. In these works there is a tension between large-scale and small-scale spheres – this in a background narrative in which hope is a steadfast element.


Henning Sommerro: Ujamaa
1 I Europe 8:03
2 II Africa 7:22
3 III America 5:09
4 IV Asia 7:35
5 V Australia 6:59
6 VI Finale 5:46

Henning Sommerro: The Iceberg
7 I The Sun 5:32
8 II The Ice 3:05
9 III The Sea 3:02
10 IV The Battle 3:24
11 V The Vision 4:09

Trondheim Symphony Orchestra and Choir
Ingar Heine Bergby, conductor
Lena Willemark, kulning and vocal
John Pål Inderberg, saxophones
Rik De Geyter, bass clarinet
Espen Aalberg, percussion
Eir Inderhaug, soprano
Florin Demit, baritone