Deodato – Prelude & Deodato 2 (1972/1973) [Reissue 2017] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}

Deodato – Prelude / Deodato 2 (1972/1973) [Reissue 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 67:46 minutes | Basic Scans included | 2,97 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 67:12 | Basic Scans incl. | 1,34 GB
2LP on 1SACD Reissue 2017 | Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # CDSML 8532 | Genre: Jazz

Produced by Creed Taylor and Rudy Van Gelder, ace arranger Deodato’s huge-selling 1972 debut solo album Prelude – which is here reissued back to back with Deodato 2 on an enhanced CD which features the rare quadrophonic mixes previously only available on 8 track – remains one of if not the key release in the CTI catalogue which unforgettably stirs into life with the stately Schifrin-esque jazz rock reworking of ‘Also Sprach Zarathustra’ which scored a 45 hit in both Europe and the US. Previously an arranger for Luiz Bonfa, Marcos Valle and Astrud Gilberto, surrounded here by a veritable ‘A’ list of session players including Hubert Laws, Ron Carter, Stanley Clarke, Airto Moreira and Billy Cobham, Prelude which comes bathed in the warm glow of the Fender Rhodes arrived as Deodato’s platinum coated international calling card by virtue of its phenomenal success.

His work on Nascimento’s 1969 album Courage brought him into contact with Creed Taylor, and when Taylor set up CTI in 1971, he wasted no time in engaging Deodato’s arranging skills. Deodato’s early CTI work included his beautiful orchestrations for Astrud Gilberto and Stanley Turrentine’s 1971 album Gilberto with Turrentine, and by 1972 Deodato himself had earned a solo contract with the label. He struck gold with his first effort, the aptly titled Prelude, thanks to Creed Taylor’s penchant for getting his artists to record jazz/crossover versions of well-known classical pieces. In Deodato’s case, it was the Sunrise fanfare from Richard Strauss’s Also Sprach Zarathustra, which had become popular through its use in Stanley Kubrick’s sci-fi epic 2001: A Space Odyssey. Deodato’s funked up, Fender Rhodes-laden reimagining of it brought both him and CTI chart success – it would become an international hit – and while it casts a long shadow over the remainder of the album, Prelude nevertheless contains several other gems. Notable among them is the Latin-flavoured jazz of Carly & Carole (Deodato’s tribute to singer-songwriters Carly Simon and Carole King) and the low-slung funk of September 13, powered by Billy Cobham’s muscular drumming.

The sequel, Deodato 2, recorded during April and May 1973, adhered to the same formula: funky originals alongside his interpretations of various classical pieces. And although it failed to emulate the success of its predecessor, Deodato 2 is arguably the better album, containing one of Deodato’s finest compositions in the dramatic Skyscrapers – sounding for all the world like a theme in search of a film – and superb jazz-rock adaptations of The Moody Blues’ Nights in White Satin and George Gershwin’s immortal Rhapsody in Blue. Both Prelude and Deodato 2 feature stellar lineups, including CTI regulars Ron Carter and Stanley Clarke (basses), Billy Cobham (drums), Hubert Laws (flute) and Airto Moreira (percussion). As well as the original stereo mixes, Vocalion’s reissue includes the quadraphonic mixes of both albums (their first ever appearance in digital format), which were made by Rudy Van Gelder at his historic studio in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey. Heard in four-channel sound, both Prelude and Deodato 2 are given new and exciting life, and rounding out this reissue is a detailed essay giving the full lowdown on Deodato and the music itself.

01. Also Sprach Zarathustra 2001
02. Spirit of Summer
03. Carly & Carole
04. Baubles Bangles and Beads
05. Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun
06. September 13
07. Nights in White Satin
08. Pavane for a Dead Princess
09. Skyscrapers
10. Super Strut
11. Rhapsody in Blue

Tracks “01-06” is “Prelude” (LP ‘1972)
Tracks “07-11” is “Deodato 2” (LP ‘1973)

Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.