Death Cab For Cutie – Thank You For Today (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Death Cab For Cutie – Thank You For Today (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 38:32 minutes | 742 MB | Genre: Rock, Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download |  © Atlantic Records

Death Cab For Cutie’s eighth album, Kintsugi, highlighted the band’s multiple fractures. Guitarist Chris Walla was leaving the project and Ben Gibbard’s marriage was collapsing. Two divisions that led to a negative and burdensome atmosphere for the group, and to an interesting but rather dark album as a result. Three years later, the sad times finally seem to be over. Thank You for Today offers more cheerful aspects and unites the long-time teammates: Ben Gibbard, Nick Harmer, Jason McGerr and two studio partners, Dave Depper and Zac Rae. Like for Kintsugi, the album is produced and mixed by the talented Rich Costey, known for his productions of Muse, Franz Ferdinand and Fiona Apple. A strong background that comes through on the very first listen.

Death Cab For Cutie’s greyish phase truly seems over. Optimism is taking over for a quiet rebellion. With I Dreamt We Spoke Again, the band starts off with a game of distortions that covers Gibbard’s voice in a retro style. Then comes the track that best represents the band’s new mind-set. Gold Rush (somewhat reminiscent of Primal Scream’s Screamadelica) borrows its melodic line from Yoko Ono’s Mind Train. More pop, catchy and airy, Death Cab For Cutie are not breaking the elements like onKintsugi. They rely on a thorough work of modelling and rebuilding from their own experiences and inspirations to reach this at once retro and contemporary rock atmosphere. – Anna Coluthe


01. I Dreamt We Spoke Again {03:04}
02. Summer Years {04:28}
03. Gold Rush {04:00}
04. Your Hurricane {03:19}
05. When We Drive {03:49}
06. Autumn Love {04:19}
07. Northern Lights {03:57}
08. You Moved Away {03:49}
09. Near / Far {03:42}
10. 60 & Punk {04:05}