Cecile McLorin Salvant – The Window (2018) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Cécile McLorin Salvant – The Window (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:10:15 minutes | 1,21 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mack Avenue Records

After bursting onto the scene in 2013 with the brilliant WomanChild, Cécile McLorin Salvant raised the bar two years later with For One To Love, an even more impressive and complete album on which her voice worked wonders, and the more traditional Dreams & Daggers, recorded live at the Village Vanguard and the DiMenna Center with her faithful trio, the Quatuor Catalyst and the pianist Sullivan Fortner. She chose only to work with the latter of the two for her 2018 vintage album titled The Window.

Born on August 28th, 1989 in Miami, Florida, she studied French law, baroque and vocal jazz in Aix-en-Provence in France before winning the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition in 2010 (at only 20 years old, in front of a panel of judges made up of Al Jarreau, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Patti Austin, Dianne Reeves and Kurt Elling!). For this album she decided on a vocal-piano duet. A baptism of fire which further demonstrates her astounding vocal ability. It is an album that also focuses on the complex nature of love through covers of songs by Richard Rodgers, Cole Porter, Leonard Bernstein and even Stevie Wonder. This is further proof that Cécile McLorin Salvant is anything but the cliché of a jazz singer, as trumpeter Wynton Marsalis puts it: “ You get a singer like this once in a generation or two…”  –  Marc Zisman

1. Visions 05:11
2. One Step Ahead 02:09
3. By Myself 02:34
4. The Sweetest Sounds 04:55
5. Ever Since the One I Love’s Been Gone 05:53
6. À Clef 02:05
7. Obsession 03:10
8. Wild is Love 03:21
9. J’ai L’Cafard 03:00
10. Somewhere 07:10
11. The Gentleman is a Dope 04:29
12. Trouble is a Man 03:47
13. Were Thine That Special Face 03:19
14. I’ve Got Your Number 05:00
15. Tell Me Why 03:28
16. Everything I’ve Got Belongs to You 01:10
17. The Peacocks 09:34

Cecile McLorin Salvant, vocals
Sullivan Fortner, piano
Melissa Aldana, tenor saxophone