Berliner Philharmoniker – Andris Nelsons conducts Mahler’s Fifth Symphony 2015 1080p WEB-DL AAC2.0 H.264-CHDWEB

HK Gruber writes about his trumpet concerto Aerial, premiered in 1999 in London: “The concerto offers two aerial views, firstly an imaginary landscape beneath the Northern Lights bearing an inscription from Emily Dickinson’s poem Wild Nights: ‘Done with the compass – Done with the chart!’ In part this refers to the pure invention that can be conjured up through the skills of a great trumpeter. The second and larger of the two aerial views, entitled Gone Dancing, has a view as if from another planet – our world is empty of human life, but a lone sign bears the words ‘Gone Dancing’.”

This subtle and virtuoso composition is performed in the Philharmonie with the soloist of the premiere, Håkan Hardenberger – veritably a “great trumpeter”.

Andris Nelsons – a welcome guest of the Berliner Philharmoniker since his highly acclaimed debut in 2010 – conducts Gustav Mahler’s Fifth Symphony in the second half of the concert. Mahler complained that the composition, first performed in 1904 in Cologne, was a “cursed work” that “no one understands”. Today, however, the Fifth Symphony is among the most frequently played works by Mahler.

25 Apr 2015



HK Gruber
Aerial, Concerto for trumpet and orchestra (29 min.)
Håkan Hardenberger Trumpet

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 5 (83 min.)

Andris Nelsons and Håkan Hardenberger in conversation with Sarah Willis (21 min.)