Antonio Carlos Jobim – The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays (1963/2014) [Official Digital Download 24bit/96kHz]

Antonio Carlos Jobim – The Composer Of Desafinado, Plays (1963/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 35:17 minutes | 739MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Verve Records
Recorded: A&R Studios, New York, NY, on May 9 and 10, 1963

The Composer of Desafinado, Plays is Antonio Carlos Jobim’s debut album originally released in 1963. The Brazilian musician and composer was known as one of the primary influences behind the creation of the bossa nova musical style. The record features all original compositions, including “The Girl from Ipanema” one of the most widely recorded songs of all time.

In his first American album, Antonio Carlos Jobim presents a dozen of his songs, each one destined to become a standard — an astounding batting average. Jobim, who claimed to have been out of practice at the time of the session, merely plays single notes on the piano with one hand, punctuated by chords now and then, sticking to his long, undulating melodies with a few passages of jazz improvisation now and then. Yet it is a lovely idea, not a gesture is wasted. Arranger Claus Ogerman unveils many of the trademarks that would define his Creed Taylor-produced albums with Jobim — the soaring, dying solo flute and spare, brooding unison string lines widening into lush harmony; flutes doubling on top of Jobim’s piano chords — again with an exquisitely spare touch. The songs include “Desafinado,” “Corcovado,” “Chega de Saudade” (No More Blues), “The Girl From Ipanema,” “Meditation,” “One Note Samba,” and half-a-dozen others (every one of which is included on The Man From Ipanema set). –AllMusic Review by Richard S. Ginell

1 The Girl From Ipanema 2:41
2 Amor Em Paz (Once I Loved) 3:35
3 Agua De Beber 2:50
4 Vivo Sonhando (Dreamer) 2:35
5 O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela) 3:21
6 Insensatez (How Insensitive) 2:52
7 Corcovado 2:26
8 Samba De Uma Nota Só (One Note Samba) 2:14
9 Meditation 3:14
10 Só Danço Samba (Jazz Samba) 2:21
11 Chega De Saudade 4:17
12 Desafinado 2:44

Antonio Carlos Jobim – piano, guitar
Leo Wright – flute, alto saxophone
George Duvivier – double bass
Jimmy Cleveland – trombone
Edison Machado – drums
Claus Ogerman – arranger, conductor


Antonio Carlos Jobim – The Composer Of Desafinado Plays (1963) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011 # UCGU-9021] {PS3 ISO + FLAC}